Cheers to a New Chapter

In traffic… It seems to be the place where I do my deepest thinking. It is here that I am easily lost in my wondering thoughts sitting on the 405 in the worst bumper to bumper traffic, heading home from the typical 9-6 corporate job I worked so eagerly towards after college. I thought I had my life all mapped out, but here I am a year after graduating finding myself re-evaluating my life yet again. I had thought the drastic change I experienced after college and moving away from home would be the hardest change I would endure until marriage and kids entered the picture. What I didn’t realize was that my heart would go through so much torture after a six year relationship reached its breaking point and ultimately failed. I am now thrust in this world I never even really entered, the dating world.

Here in lies the background behind my decision to do this blog following my dating life and everything that comes with it. About 9 months ago, I made one of the hardest decisions of my life. I broke off a six year relationship with someone I had been with since my senior year of high school. Yes, that puts me at 24 years old. He was my first boyfriend, first love and my everything. I honestly saw myself marrying this man. This was definitely premature thinking on my part because really how do you know what you truly want when you are 18, but at that time I wanted him in my life forever. Fast forward almost seven years later and here I am rehashing the past nine months of trying to work something out that was never meant to be. Our lives started to head in different directions and I truly believe there was nothing either of us could do about it. We didn’t want the same things. There is no need to go into the logistics of why we aren’t together or what we have recently put each other through, all there is to know is that chapter in my life is closed.

My friends and family have urged me to throw myself out there and meet new guys. All I can think to myself is how scared I am and what if I made the wrong decision. Ironically, I came across this quote that has put this project of mine in to motion. “You can’t start the next chapter of your life if you keep re-reading the last one.” From that moment on, I knew this was something I wanted to do and my hope is this will help rebuild myself to be the strong woman I once was and maybe even inspire other women who are going through the same pains and fears.

So this is where the journey of my love life in L.A begins. The good, the bad, the funny and even the weirdest dating experiences I hope will unfold and I hope to bring them all to you.  I plan on thrusting myself in to every type of dating outlet I can, with the intention of not only healing, but gaining valuable dating experience I have longed for. 

Until next time!

~Emma

4 thoughts on “Cheers to a New Chapter

Leave a Reply

