He is Perfect for You!

I knew this day would come and I am at the point in my singlehood where I am confidently open to the idea. It is that moment where everyone you know has found out that you are single and they have someone who is “perfect” for you. Yes, I have reached this moment. My family is the first of the accomplices who have taken the reigns in finding me my soul mate. However, some discrepancies have come in to light having to do with the etiquette of setting someone up, with my mother being the main culprit.

First, it has come to my attention; my mother has no idea what my “type” in men is. She clearly does not pay attention to when I mention a guy is cute. She also broke the most important rule when you take on the task of setting someone up; she gives my number to anyone. And by anyone, I mean it is any guy who says they are single. I love my mother to death, but you can’t just set me up with random people. The other rule she breaks is ask EVERY single person she knows if they have somebody for me. I would think a mother would be picky for her daughter.

My dad on the other hand, has taken the opposite route. He is extremely picky with whom he suggests to me and he seems to know my taste in men to a “T”. If he says he has found someone he thinks I would be interested in, I know that he has tailored his pickings to me. But then the awkward part happens. How does your dad reach out to a guy and tell them their daughter is a catch? If we could get past this point, I will be golden. They always say, “Girls search for men who remind them of their fathers,” and I definitely would be lucky to have a guy like him.

All of this makes me ask the question if we can truly find our significant other on our own. Most people I know have met the person they are dating or married to through mutual friends. Is it rare to meet a perfect stranger with no help from an outside source? I guess this is why I am doing this blog, to find out for myself.

Until next time!

Emma

P.S. I don’t normally have dates planned until they happen, but I have a special event planned for this week and I am sure it will be a great story to tell!

Leave a Reply

